Flailing Adventures in Macro

DSC_0267_Fotor

 

I went for another adventure in the apartment complex. I am really focusing on trying to work with familiar settings in different times to take advantage of new lighting. It has been really interesting walking around and looking at things from a new perspective. I’m beginning to realize I need to plan my photos beforehand. But, right now, it works just trying to shoot the same things, while playing with different settings. However, I will plan to bring bug spray next time. I’m trying to avoid West Nile.

 

DSC_0289_Fotor

DSC_0296_Fotor

Another focus I had this time was getting to know my new lens. I recently ordered a 55-200mm f/4-5.6G VR DX AF-S ED Nikkor lens. One day I’ll try a prime lens, but for now, the zoom lens gives me the varying ranges of Super-Man-like vision I feel like I need. I can now creep on my dog from far away, and avoid the inevitable wet dog nose on my lens. I’m am very excited to continue to work on macro shots.

 

DSC_0297_Fotor

DSC_0254_Fotor

DSC_0309_Fotor

Good news! As I have fully invested in my new hobby, I have a tripod on the way (I am a slave to the mail system). Thankfully this will eliminate the need to stand like a statue while holding my breath. That way, next time, when the man approaches me asking, “are you taking pictures of the lake,” I can articulately respond, as opposed to screaming and almost falling face first into the water. I may have been concentrating very hard or he could have been a ninja. Either was plausible.

DSC_0316_Fotor DSC_0336_Fotor

14 thoughts on “Flailing Adventures in Macro

  1. the 55-200 isn’t a macro. if you can’t effort a real macro, try a Close-up filter for one of your lenses. I also used one in the beginning. it worked quite good with the 18-55, but less with the 55-200 (I used to have both of them in those ancient times 🙂 )

    Like

    • What would be considered a macro lens? Right now, I’m just taking advantage of the extreme zoom of the 55-200. But, I suppose there is probably a big difference between zoom and macro. Lol I’m pretty new to all of this. So, thank you for the advice 🙂

      Like

      • you’re right, there is a huge difference between a tele-zoom (btw 200mm isn’t extreme) and a macro lens.
        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Macro_photography
        although a macro lens is more expensive than a kit zoom, you can definitely get much better photos from flowers, insects, details.
        Now, you have a kit lens, nothing special, a bit of everything. The lens is quite good, especially for a beginner. But, you will find out, that it lacks on the edges of your aim to use it.
        a macro would bring you in a shorter distance to your subject, has a way better reproduction scale and it is usually much sharper.

        Like

  2. Hi, thank you for visiting my blog and liking my post, I really like this, I want to have a blog like this way, as a starter lot of things came to my mind, but like you, I love taking macro also.

    Like

  3. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

    Yes, Adobe offers Photoshop and Lightroom for just $9.99 a month but for the life of me I don’t understand why one would need both. One can also get Elements, albeit at a different price. Here’s how I explain it to my Clients:

    Photoshop is the whole SHOP.
    Lightroom is a ROOM in the shop.
    Elements are ELEMENTS in the room in the shop.

    Do you want the whole shop, just a room, or just some elements?

    In other words, Photoshop can do everything that Lightroom and Elements can do, but neither Elements nor Lightroom can do all that Photoshop can do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

