Fort Desoto

My friends’s and I enjoyed a relaxing day on Fort Desoto beach. 

enter1 copy

It is another beach in Florida that strays away from the typical “post card” scene you normally see. 

animallife copy

I love all the details that help this beach stand out from the vacant nothingness of the more touristy spots. 

stumpbeach copy

It seems weird, to me, to have trees and stumps on a beach. 

treelifeguard copy

lifeguard copy

No life guard on duty. 

selfreflection copy

I really didn’t run into any photography challenges (that I realize, yet.) Luckily, there was plenty of bright light.  

birdlogs copy

However, I did finally get a monthly subscription to Photoshop and Lightroom. 

shell copy

So, these photos are my first attempt at editing. I knew the learning curve was step, but, whoa. I’m going to be purchasing a guide soon. Some people have suggested books by Scott Kelby. These look pretty promising. The next step in my adventure. 🙂

seaoats copy

Till then my eye is completely untrained. So, I apologize if it’s obscenely obvious how edited these are. I have heard differing opinions on Photoshop. So, maybe it is just personal preference? 

cropbird2 copy

I was pretty fond of this guy.

stickarm copy

This stick was very interesting. Beautiful, even.

I used the stick as a subject for a while. I received many weird looks. 

stickbike copy

This guy, again. 

ruffledbird copy

loglife copy

sunbeach copy

With school starting again, it is hard to get out and shoot like I want to. This trip was definitely well worth the drive. 

7 thoughts on “Fort Desoto

  1. Lovely photos. The ones of the heron are great. Re: Lightroom and Photoshop- you don’t necessarily need to jump in with books, etc. right away, although that is one way to go. Honestly, start with just using LR and fiddling around with the various settings. LR has most of the functionalities you need these days (with a few exceptions). Photoshop is a much bigger animal to deal with, with all the layering and masking you can do, so I would suggest you get comfortable with LR first before you jump into PS.

    When I am posting photos for my blog, I stick to LR to speed up the process. If I am doing fine art printing, I will definitely take the time to use PS and add-ins available on PS to enhance shadows, etc.

    Above all else, are you shooting in RAW format on your camera?

    Like

      • No problem. If you can afford a large memory card, like 64GB, you can actually shoot in RAW+ (and get one RAW file, one JPEG file). As you probably know, when you shoot in JPEG, your camera box is processing the photos for you in a compressed format, taking a lot of the finer details out of your file. When you take a RAW file and process it in LR or PS you will be amazed how much more detail is hidden in the RAW file that you can extract. Your photos will begin to pop and areas that you thought were clipped (pure black or pure white) may in fact reveal themselves to have a lot more detail than you were expecting. Shooting in RAW is definitely the one thing I wish I’d started doing right away before I went and traveled the world a bunch, so I recommend you begin to use it as soon as you can. Happy to help any time.

        Like

  2. I love the tree stumps there! We don’t have anything like that here…that I know of. I could go there every time I thought there would be color or drama in the sky and wanted a coastal image.
    I loved your Heron. How used to people that guy is! Most of the Blue Heron around here are very skittish and take flight as soon as they spot you.

    You’re images look great to me. I stand by my recommendation for Scott Kelby’s books, and if you go the LightRoom route Scott Kelby has a book for it as well. It too has a learning curve!
    http://www.amazon.com/Photoshop-Lightroom-Digital-Photographers-Voices/dp/0321934318/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1409890140&sr=1-1&keywords=lightroom

    I’ve had LR since LR3 but don’t use it much. I find Bridge, Adobe’s ACR which does all that LR does and Photoshop fill all my needs. To me LR is just a catalog of my images, but I have a filing system on my hard drive that is perfect for me,and I don’t need a catalog that does the same thing.
    Bridge keywords, and keeps my Metadata up to date so I don’t really see the advantage to LR for my workflow. One day that may change, but for now Photoshop works for me.

    Since you’ve decided to go with the CC version you’ll have both! I do recommend the books though and YouTube! Once you’ve got it installed and open it and want to develop your images you may see why I recommend the books. They’re complicated and powerful tools.

    If you have a camera that PS and LR have in their database I don’t see the need to shoot both RAW and JPEG just shoot RAW and learn to develop your images from there. If you were a photographer needing to submit images on a short deadline to a publisher I would recommend shooting both RAW and JPEG though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

